Skip to content

Automatic retry enrollment for Return to Service

Devices erased with Return to Service can now retry enrollment on their own if the initial attempt fails. In the Erase device modal, checking Use Return to Service reveals a new Retry enrollment option, checked by default, that's available for iPhone and iPad on iOS 27 or iPadOS 27 or later.

When enrollment fails after the device erases, the device automatically retries with an increasing delay of up to 5 minutes between attempts, instead of stranding the device in Setup Assistant. The option is also available through the Iru Enterprise API's erase action, and as an admin-controlled default for Return to Service triggered through the Iru Self Service app.

For more details, see Erase Apple Devices.

Stay up to date

Iru's bi-weekly collection of articles, videos, and research to keep IT & Security teams ahead of the curve.